In Times of Need, Read a Book.

Now, to some of you reading a book when you are in a time of need seems a little bit silly. There are so many things going on in your life that you feel as though you don’t have time to sit down and read, but I say bologna.

My Dad passed away in September of last year. It was the biggest thing to ever happen to me. I had always considered myself very lucky because I hadn’t lost many people in my life, but losing my Dad blew that thought out of the water.

My Dad was on a business trip in Australia when he passed away, and it was very unexpected. His co-worker that was in Australia with him said he had been complaining that he had a pain in his stomach, and he went to make a doctors appointment for my Dad while he went to lay down in his room.

When his Co-worker went upstairs my Dad had already passed away.

Beyond the stomach pain there was nothing that would have given us an idea that my Dad was anywhere near death.

We had my Dad autopsied because his death seemed so unreal to all of us and we needed to know why. We still don’t know exactly why he died, but the doctor told us that it was a fluke of the heart and something just didn’t do what it was supposed to do.

He also told us that my Dad had severe liver cancer and that it had spread to his lungs, and that if he hadn’t died of the heart fluke, he would have died very painfully within a few months.

I’m the type of person that when something bad happens, I need to deal with it on my time and when I’m darn well ready to. I took the time off from school that I needed for the funeral and viewing, but after that it was easier for me to push it out of my mind till I can actually deal with it.

What I did to do that was read books.

I read a few books and they were often love stories or adventures. One of the books more specifically was The Last Song, by Nicholas Sparks.

The book was becoming a movie, and was advertised on television all the time. I had read a few of Spark’s other books, so I figured why not give it a chance.

For those of you who haven’t read it, it’s about a father who tricked his daughter and son into spending the summer with him (since he had divorced his wife and moved away three years earlier).

(CAUTION: The next two paragraphs will ruin the ending, so skip them if you are planning on reading it!)

They spent the summer together and the Dad worked on his relationship with his kids and eventually won them over, before he got so sick that he had to tell his kids that he was dying of cancer.

The book then goes on to talk about the daughter staying with her father through his fight with cancer and seeing him as he withered away to his death.

Before this book I never really thought about how lucky I was. I know that sounds so stupid considering what had happened, but it was true.

My family didn’t have to see my Dad go through all that pain, because he didn’t feel any pain.

He was a proud man, and to admit to us that he was going to die would have broken his heart on top of everything.

I had a great relationship with my father, which had only gotten better the last summer he was alive. My Mom was went on a few college trips with my sister, so my Dad, brother and I got to spend time together that we hadn’t ever before, and he didn’t trick me into it.

We began to make cheese together; we started brewing beer together; and became more than just father and daughter, but friends.

The Last Song had a huge impact on my life. Sure, while reading it I hated it because no one had warned me what it was about, but I’m glad they didn’t because I got to realize how lucky I was.

If any of you have gone through anything similar, or even if you just want to read a good tear-jerker, I would highly recommend this book!

~ by erinnhesse on April 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
